Infographic.

readingoutloud

I really struggled when trying to think of what to do for my visual. I was upset at myself for picking the topic of reading out loud in class. Then I had an idea: I would make a “quiz”. The quiz I designed is onethat most people see in Cosmopolitan magazine, something like this:

Female_Tech_blog

Usually, Cosmo’s quizzes are for figuring out what type of job you should have or what kind of a date you should go on. So I decided to use this idea to make a quiz that tells you what kind of an aloud reader in class you are. I used Easle.ly to make my quiz. It was VERY fun and easy. I, also, was glad to find out it is free. My whole idea behind this quiz was for teachers (and students) to take sometime in the first few weeks of class. By giving students this “quiz” you allow them a non-judgmental space to express how they feel about reading out loud in front of a class. It is less painful to find out this way if you have a class of students whom HATE to read out loud this way than to actually have them do it and embarrass themselves. As a teacher, you are able to sit down and distinguish the type of class you have. This is not to say that if you have a class of students who all HATE reading out loud, you should never ever do it. Instead, it tells you that it is something you have to work on and be aware of. Since reading out loud has many benefits, you need to help the student by making them as comfortable as possible when in class so they are better able to read in front of their peers. If you have a class of avid aloud readers, you don’t need to spend much time on prepping them for aloud reading.

 

As for the process of designing the infographic “quiz”, It took me about 2 hours. I am very indecisive when it comes to picking colors, designs and layouts, so this took a bit of time to get an initial template for. Once I had the details picked out, I had to decide what type of questions to ask for the quiz. As a teacher, we have to do this all the time for real quizzes. Wording is vital when it comes to getting the right information from a student. Confusion leads to frustration and frustration never allows for information to be properly processed and accessed. Because of this, I worded the questions as carefully as possible. I made the 3 different types of aloud readers at the bottom but didn’t give them a “title” because I feel like this limits students. If I was to label one as proficient aloud reader, do-able, and low, I would be labeling the student’s abilities which is something good teachers avoid.

 

I think overall, it is a good tool for both teachers and students. It makes students come to a sense of how they read aloud without singling any one student out. It gives the teacher a survey of the type of aloud readers she or he has in the classroom right off the bat.

2 thoughts on “Infographic.

  1. Awesome visualization. I enjoyed taking your quiz. Also I thought it was very accurate when I read my result. What a fun and easy way to get to know more about your students. I agree that this would be a great way to find out about your students’ comfort level with reading aloud. I also thought this was a cute design that you created. It’s funny that you said you were upset with yourself for first picking this topic because I think it turned out very nicely and this something that I would love to use in my own classroom.

  2. Such a neat tool to use with your students! Your infographic is very savvy and visually appealing. I think it would not only benefit a teacher, but also students. What a fun way to find out a students’ comfort level of reading out loud. Well done!

Leave a Reply

